First month on Weight Watchers

Today I’ve been on Weight Watchers for 4 weeks and I’ve only lost a total of 6 pounds. This really annoys me and I know it really shouldn’t. As I mentioned in another post I’ve been following weight watchers for about 8 months now (started after my baby was about a month old) and lost about 30 pounds on my own. I still had 20 pounds to lose to get back to my pre pregnancy weight and I thought going back & paying will help me be more strict because I have a deadline…I don’t want to spend $40 forever & I’ll get back to my lifetime weight faster.
My starting weight was 166.8 & month weekly weigh-ins:
1.) 164.8
2.) 162.2
3.) 162.2
4.) 160.8
Since I didn’t lose any weight last week I thought I’d lose at least 2 pounds this week. I was blaming “Aunt Flow” for not losing (and the fact I had a good eating Mothers Day weekend) last week. I figured all the extra fluid I was retaining during Aunt Flow would’ve been gone & I would’ve see good numbers this week.
Besides staying on program I’ve been working my ass off with 30 day shred. The 2 other times I’ve done weight watchers in the past I never worked out like this. The last time I did sort of but only used the treadmill & elliptical at the gym and it didn’t last very long. Both times I lost 30 pounds within 2-3 months losing at least 2 pounds each week, usually more. The 1st time I kept the weight off for a while but it slowly crept back on. The last time I got pregnant so during the pregnancy I thought I was free to eat whatever so I gained about 60-70lbs figuring i’d lose it fast like I have in the past….nope!
I do think 30 day shred is working, and I know muscle weighs more than fat but I need to see the scale move. I am fitting back in a size 12 jeans instead of a 16 but I need to see the scale move faster.
Need to wrap up this post because Fiona is starting to fuss but I’m gonna try a few things this week: Drink more water, walk more on top of just doing 30 day shred, and (try) not use my activity points.

~ by J.D. on May 22, 2010.

5 Responses to “First month on Weight Watchers”

  1. As a ten year on-and-off WW veteran who’s had huge losses, and devastating gains, I can tell you that you’re doing everything right. Slow losses are okay. Muscle does weigh more than fat, and your metabolism is going through major changes if you’re exercising a lot more – it’ll take some time for you to see the difference on the scale.
    The other thing is, post pregnancy your body is different, and may lose weight differently–especially as you approach your ideal weight.
    I’m sure you know most of this already, but sometimes it helps to hear someone else say it.

  2. Alright, here’s the deal…you’re doing everything right. Slow losses are good. And you’re fitting in jeans you haven’t before.

    Do you take your measurements? If not, start doing so.

    I know from experience that sometimes the scale doesn’t move as quickly as we’d like. But the measurements shrink.

    Remember you’re more than just a number on the scale. And this journey is MUCH more than that. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

    And I know exactly how you feel. I’ve only lost 7lbs in the last 2months. But I keep truckin’ along. That’s all you can do.

    • Thanks. I did take measurements in March then retook them last week & I lost about 2″ in my thighs, hips & waist and about 1″ every where else. I went shopping the other day and I fit easily in size 12 jeans which made me happy. When I bought jeans 2 months after I had my baby I was in size 16 then later on my mom got me a size 14 which were tight & now they’re loose so I’m shrinking….but with weight watchers I can’t get back to going free until the scale numbers go down to my lifetime weight. Definitely not the most important but going to weight watchers helps me. I guess because of that the numbers on the scale stay in my head…it would be nice if WW would add measurements too 🙂
      Thanks for your comment, it’s helpful to hear someone else say it as Ruby mentioned.

  3. I am bit late in commenting, but I know how you feel. I have been doing Shred and yoga very regularly and the scale has moved a small bit at a time, but the fact that my shorts and capris all are much longer (smaller thighs) and people are commenting on how I look means despite wishing the scale would move faster it is working. To me fitting in smaller clothes is a huge deal!!! It is nice to be able to wear things I could not before and feel comfortable exercising in shorts and not just capris. 🙂 Keep up the good work. It will all catch up in the end.
    @teachtgs

Leave a Reply

 
